Read Assist.org

About ReadAssist

Meeting Minutes


Home About ReadAssist eAvailable Books Tools and Devices Fans and FanAc Contact Us

About Jimmy's Corner Officers and Committees Finances Record of Meetings Activities

August 12, 2006

The following members were present in the ReadAssist Chatroom at aim.com:

Lasker declared a quorum at 2:02 PDT.

Lasker inquired from J. Dorsett the latest concerning SFPL. Dorsett reported:

  • SFPL has an incorporation number, which is the same as the OK tax number
  • Next step is to request a Federal Tax ID number
  • Then to request for Fed Tax Exempt status.

    J. Dorsett also has C. Dorsett setting up some pictures. T-shirts signed by several authors. Cost will be $25. Has to set up another ebay webstore and new paypal account. (Old webstore now used by another group.) A link will be put on the RA website and J. Dorsett will mention at message boards. J. Dorsett and Poggiani will work out the detail for the RA link later.

    Poggiani’s report provided updated information on the webscription project (see below). POST MEETING NOTE: Received URL from Arnold Bailey. Teresa Cochran successfully tested access to the free webscriptions. Next step is to get the webscriptions application form operational on the RA website. May take a couple of weeks.

    Lasker asked about our relationship with Clarion. Board members to put this concept on hold. Dailey, J. Dorsett and Cochran to form subcommittee to explore other possible potential scholarship recipients and for gadget support.

    Next meeting will be on SATURDAY, September 23, 2006, 12:00 PM (noon PDT, 1:00 PM MDT, 2:00 PM CDT, or 3:00 PM EDT) ReadAssist Chatroom (set up by Dailey).

    Submitted by Janet Dailey, Commo & Recorder, August 22, 2006

    Committee Reports

    Treasury Report, July 12, 2006

    Website bill was paid to Hosting Matters automatically per yearly agreement. The amount paid was $72.00. We received $0.33 in interest. Our current balance is $1,225.09

    /s/ Jody Dorsett, Treasurer

    Webscriptions Form

    Free Webscriptions to the Handicapped is a program proposed by Jim Baen, who asked ReadAssist.org to screen applicants. Toni Weisskopf has now edited and approved the form, and Arnold Bailey has set up a registration form.

    Next Steps
    1. Cochran to test Bailey's registration form.
    2. Poggiani to supply Guthrie with Weisskopf's edit, etc., for modification of the application form; Poggiani then to proofread the form.
    3. Guthrie to send the form to McComb for loading it on the website.
    4. Poggiani, Dailey, anyone else?, to test the form.
    5. Someone to notify Bailey that the application form is operable so that Baen (or Webscriptions) can publicize it, and add a link to the application form from the Webscriptions website.
    6. ReadAssist website to add the link.

    /s/ Pam Poggiani

     
    Back to Last Meeting
    Return to Index Page
    On to Next Meeting